Imperial Fly-By

Imperial Eagle https://www.birding-in-portugal.com/birds-of-prey/spanish-imperial-eagle-aquila-adalberti

An Imperial Eagle flew over my head Today

As if to Put me in my Place and Say

That although I could Pay for a Seat

And take my Place up in the Air

I never the Cool Air would feel

Ruffling my Feathers coursing over my Tail

As I Tilt and Shift without a Thought

Re- Focusing my Invisible Trail

As I Rise and Lift on Streams of Air

Harnessing Nature’s Power

All without Extraction or Engineering

Or even a Flight Control Tower

I Watched in Awe and Called to Her

My Cries lost to the Wind

But I felt our Connection

I felt her Condescend

To Look on Down on Poor Ground Locked Me

In Sadness and in Sympathy

Never to Know the True Joys of Flight

To Balance on the Winds so Light

But then she grew Bored of my Company

Tipped a Wing and Soared Away

Away to Westward in Hunting Mode

Not travelling High but Gliding Low

Eyes to the Ground where the Landlocked Live

Some of whom their Lives would Give

And their Atoms Soar into the Heights

Vicariously to Enjoy the Gift of Flight

https://www.birding-in-portugal.com/birds-of-prey/spanish-imperial-eagle-aquila-adalberti

About xiccafrances

I am a woman engaged in a spiral of soul evolution. I believe that for an equitable future many of us should choose to consume less and create more. Life is Art so engaging in all things artistically is my aim- from cultivating sensory gardens to music, writing, painting, cooking etc.etc. Spiral Arc is run from a small house above the Santa Clara reservoir in Southern Portugal where guests are welcome to stay and share in the vision of day to day life undertaken in a spiritually artistic and fun fashion!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment